Reading like the pros

November 11, 2010 § 4 Comments

I bought myself some new books. That’s right. I READ. Recently more about business, art and successful entrepreneurs. As soon as my fav photographers give a (book) recommendation – I buy.  That’s how easy I am to convince. Really.

In the photography business I absolutely adore David Jay, Chase Jarvis and Jasmine Star. Young. Creative. Successful. DRIVEN. {aaand good looking.ha} One of the recommended books I am reading right now is “The Art of the Start” (by Guy Kawasaki). I actually got stuck on the first page(s). It says that one of the most important things to consider when starting something is to MAKE MEANING:

“…create a product or service that makes the world a better place…”

How can photography make the world a better place? HOW? My view is stuck on diseases, thirst, poverty, environmental pollution, crime.

I am lost.

And this is one picture of today’s pouring rain. Because everybody likes to talk about the weather, too.

// Dani

§ 4 Responses to Reading like the pros

  • // Dani says:

    UPDATE: I have an answer to the MAKE MEANING question. It was there, all the time. I just couldn’t see it: HELP PORTRAIT!

    Photography can make the world a better place. Bring people together. Create a great community. Make people happy. Let them feel special about themselves.

    WOHOOO.

  • // Dani says:

    Dear friends. Thank you for your wonderful insights. I will think about that one more time! Danke!

  • Suki says:

    For me photography can change the world because it holds a moment in time. Since we all die someday I, for once, will be very grateful for every picture I created. I know the story behind it, remember stories about that day. It just makes me plain happy.
    But, maybe that’s just me.. 😉

  • Marc says:

    Hey!
    Photography can change the world by making other people aware that certain things exist! How often did you hear about things without knowing how they look like? And what changed in your mind, when you first took a glance at them? That’s what you can achieve with your work: Make people aware by making them see and thereby change their ways of thinking in a positive way. A positive change of mind often goes along with a positive change in acting, and that is always good. Especially for entrepreneurs 😉
    Saludos!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading like the pros at .

meta

